A 53 mile Ultramarathon / 66 mile Cycle Sportive Double

Dear Friends

On April 25th I will be running the Hoka Highland Fling Ultramarathon (53miles/85km). About 10 hours later in the early hours of the 26th I will be on my bike attempting the Etape Loch Ness Bike race (66 mile/105km).

When I entered these events last year I was uncertain as to whether I could get fit enough for either. Thanks to the encouragement of friends and family I have pushed quite hard through the winter training and the double now looks possible.

This year I am raising money and awareness for both Diabetes UK and Asthma UK. As someone with both conditions I hope to highlight that they do not have to hold you back and that exercise can help in controlling them. If you can spare some cash I can assure you it will go to two great charities and make a real difference to people’s lives.

Many thanks, Steve

http://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/Tentsmuir

About Tentsmuir

Tentsmuir is a 50 something ex-marathon/ slow-ultrarunner/ sort of mountainbiker with Asthma and Diabetes. He is often to be found going round in circles in the Tentsmuir Forest trying to make sense of the contradictions in history, Buddhist philosophy and Scottish malt whisky. Also to be found stravaiging in the Scottish mountains, in deep jungles or lurking on Twitter @Tentsmuir
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A 53 mile Ultramarathon / 66 mile Cycle Sportive Double

  1. Lee Perry says:

    That’s a big weekend Steve! hope it goes to plan and you have fun doing it 🙂
    L

    • Tentsmuir says:

      Aye Lee – the training has been fun, And I don’t think I’ve said that since 2012! Got D33 Ultra on Saturday so going to push in a 40-50 mile bike on Sunday morning to see how it goes. Even if the worst happens and I get injured out December until now has been a blast 🙂

    • richensa says:

      I started running (compared to yours: slighly walking) again… found my old music stick which is for me more important than shoes and started with 20 min with my worn left ankle.

      • Tentsmuir says:

        We all start somewhere. 10 years ago I could not run for 10 mins. Don’worry about pace or distance. Just get some good routes and enjoy the benefits 🙂

Leave a Reply

