Running v Cycling – The Blood Glucose Experiment

I have been asked about fuelling by quite a few diabetic folks of late. Here’s what I had to say about it a couple of years back

Tentsmuir

My interest in understanding fuelling for diabetic endurance runners is something that has been troubling me since I finished the Bamburgh Coastal Trail Ultra Marathon last October. I seriously underestimated the fuelling levels required on that run, and though I finished in good time and high spirits, I soon found myself having a diabetic episode. I cannot tell you for sure if my Blood Glucose Level (BGL) was too low because, as a Type 2 Diabetic, I had ceased to be prescribed test strips for my BGL meter in 2008. I was told there was no need now that my circumstances had changed. Briefly, the background is this:

I’ve been diagnosed T2 diabetic since 2001 and a runner of sorts since then completing my first marathon in 2006 in 3:59:01. For about six years my BGLs were completely controlled by exercise. I monitored by BGL religiously and eschewed any attempt…

View original post 1,785 more words

About Tentsmuir

Tentsmuir is a 50 something ex-marathon/ slow-ultrarunner/ sort of mountainbiker with Asthma and Diabetes. He is often to be found going round in circles in the Tentsmuir Forest trying to make sense of the contradictions in history, Buddhist philosophy and Scottish malt whisky. Also to be found stravaiging in the Scottish mountains, in deep jungles or lurking on Twitter @Tentsmuir
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

